Main menu


5 nationalities that cannot buy a property in Türkiye

5 nationalities cannot buy a property in Turkey, including North Korean citizens and citizens of several other countries, to own a property in Turkey. Learn about the nationalities prohibited from owning property in Turkey.

Can citizens of all countries own property in Türkiye?

As stipulated in Turkish laws and legislation, Turkey is considered one of the countries that allows foreigners other than Turkish citizens to own real estate there, as these real estate properties include apartments, villas, lands, commercial real estate, and other different types of real estate.

However, Turkish law excludes 5 countries from the possibility of their citizens owning real estate in Turkey, for various reasons that are based on the principle of the law of reciprocity, or because of crises and security incidents between the two countries, or for matters related to international politics.

What nationalities are prohibited from owning property in Türkiye?

The countries whose citizens are prohibited by Turkish law from owning real estate inside the country are as follows:

1. Syria

Turkish laws and legislation prohibit Syrian citizens from owning property in the country, on the principle of reciprocity, as this decision dates back to the referendum of 1939 AD during the French occupation of Syrian lands, where A popular referendum was held in the state of Hatay, which recognized its annexation to Turkey, which led to the French authorities in Syria taking the decision to expel Turkish citizens, confiscate their property, and attack their real estate. Consequently, the Turkish authorities at the time issued similar laws.

2. North Korea

North Korea is one of the countries isolated globally, and the international system imposes various international sanctions on it, and therefore the Turkish authorities do not allow North Korean citizens to own real estate on its territory in line with international resolutions.

3. Cuba

is one of the countries of the Caribbean region in Central America, and it is considered one of the countries that is subject to various international sanctions. Therefore, Turkey is committed to international laws and the implementation of those sanctions, as citizens of the State of Cuba do not own property in Turkey.

4. Armenia

Turkey is linked to the country of Armenia, which neighbors its territory, with bad historical political relations and crises, and accusations exchanged by both parties on the international and international scene, and the development of these accusations led to Turkish laws preventing citizens of the state of Armenia from owning real estate in Turkey.

5. Cypriot citizenship

The decision to prevent Cypriot citizens from owning property in Turkey is based on the crisis occurring on the island between Greek Cypriots and Turkish Cypriots, which in turn led to fighting between the two sides that ended with Turkish military intervention on the island to protect the interests of Turkish Cypriots and the division of Cyprus into two separate administrations, one northern. And another southern one.

Are there specific ways to own property in Türkiye for banned nationalities?

Citizens of countries prohibited from owning property in Turkey can buy and own real estate in the country in multiple ways and cases.

This is done after the citizens of those countries obtain Turkish citizenship, and thus they can buy and own real estate in Turkey without any significant obstacles.

Citizens of countries prohibited from owning property in Turkey obtain Turkish citizenship in several ways, including: 

  • marrying a Turkish citizen and continuing the marital relationship for 3 years.

  • working and residing in Turkey legally for 5 continuous years, without the total departure from the country being more than 6 months.

Direct investment or bank deposit in one of the Turkish investment funds or one of the Turkish banks operating in the country with a value of no less than 500 thousand US dollars, which must be deposited for a period of 3 years.